About Yakutsk

The capital of the Sakha (Yakutia) Republic is Yakutsk, a large port on the Lena river and the largest city in the permafrost zone. It sits on the left bank of the Lena river in the Tuymaada valley.   

The city history started in 1632 when the team under Sotnik (lieutenant of Cossack troops) Pyotr Beketov laid the Yakutsky (Lensky) ostrog (stockaded town). In 1643 the ostrog was shifted to the Tuymaada valley and received its current status and name of Yakutsk. In 1822 it became an oblast center and since 1851 the area has got an independent province status equal to gubernia (Governor’s territory) with the center in Yakutsk. In 1991 the city became capital of the Sakha (Yakutia) Republic.

During the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945 the city hosted the Administration of the air route called Alsib (Alaska-Siberia) for lend-lease aircraft shipments from the USA.

Yakutsk has a long and rich history. So the city can boast a lot of museums. The oldest one is the State united museum of history and culture of peoples of the North after Yaroslavsky founded in 1891. It has the natural history, scientific, archeology and ethnography expositions and krai local history materials.   

In ancient times the area was inhabited by mammoths whose remains are still found in permafrost. Today Yakutia leads among regions with mammoth bone. The Mammoth museum tells about the old times and animals. Here at a depth of 12 meters is the underground laboratory of Melnikov permafrost institute that offers tours on the permafrost strata and ancient plants.  

Besides that Yakutsk has the Museum of music and folklore of the peoples of the Sakha (Yakutia) Republic and the People of the world khomus museum and center. This center exhibits over 400 vargan instruments from around the world. 

In the city suburbs several ethnographic centers are found. Ytyk Khaya demonstrates all aspects of Yakut life. People celebrate national festivals here, and in winter time it is the platform for the ice sculpture festival. The Bakaldyn center tells of the Evenki culture and organizes reindeer sleigh ride. The Orto-Doidu tourist center has a small copy of the Yakutsk ostrog. 

200 km south-west of Yakutsk is the Khangalassky ulus (region) with the main sight of the Lena, Pillars Nature Park. The Pillars are precipitous rocks up to 150 m high standing along the Lena for 80 km. Here one finds caves some of which are united in a complex system of labyrinths with stalactite formations, glacial incrustations and lakes.

That is only a part of the rich Sakha (Yakutia) heritage. We advise the visitor to find time and get here to make one’s own discoveries.

О Якутске

Столица республики Саха (Якутия). Крупнейший порт на реке Лена и самый большой город, расположенный в зоне вечной мерзлоты. Стоит на левом берегу реки Лена в долине Туймаада.

История города начинается в 1632 году, когда отряд сотника Петра Бекетова заложил Якутский (Ленский) острог. В 1643 году острог был перенесен в долину Туймааада, получил статус города и нынешнее название. В 1822 году стал областным городом, а с 1851 года получает статус самостоятельной области на правах губернии с центром в Якутстке. В 1991 году город становится столицей республики Саха (Якутия).

Во время Великой Отечественной войны в городе находилось управление воздушной трассы Алсиб, по которой из США перегонялись самолеты, полученные по ленд-лизу.

Якутск имеет богатую и давнюю историю. Поэтому в городе находится большое количество музеев. Старейший музей — Государственный объединенный музей истории и культуры народов Севера им. Ярославского, основанный в 1891 году. Здесь представлены естественно-научная, археологическая и этнографическая коллекции, материалы по истории края.

В древности на территории Якутии обитали мамонты, чьи останки сохранила вечная мерзлота. На сегодня Якутия является одним из главных регионов по находкам мамонтовой кости. В музее мамонта рассказывается о временах и древних животных. Здесь же, на глубине 12 метров располагается подземная лаборатория Института мерзлотоведения, где проводятся экскурсии, и рассказывается о строении мерзлых толщ и древней растительности.

Помимо этого в Якутске работают музей музыки и фольклора народов Республики Саха (Якутия) и международный центр хомуса и варганной музыки народов мира. В центре представлены более 400 разновидностей варганных инструментов со всех стран мира.

В окрестностях города находятся несколько этнографических комплексов. Комплекс «Ытык Хайа», где представлены все аспекты жизни якутов. Здесь отмечаются национальные праздники, зимой проводится фестиваль ледовых скульптур. Комплекс «Бакалдын», где рассказывается о культуре эвенков, и устраиваются катания на оленьих упряжках. Туркоплекс «Орто-Дойду», где построенная уменьшенная копия Якутского острога.

На юго-западе от Якутска, в 200 км находится Хангаласский улус, достопримечательностью которого является национальный природный парк «Ленские столбы». Столбы представляют собой обрывистые скалы, высотой до 150 м, выстроившиеся вдоль Лены на 80 км. Здесь же встречаются пещеры, некоторые из которых объединены в сложную систему лабиринтов со сталактиктовыми образованиями, ледяными накипями и озерами.

Это всего лишь часть достопримечательностей, которые таит в себе богатая наследием Республика Саха (Якутия). Советуем найти время и приехать сюда для того, чтобы совершить собственные открытия.